Which Love Language Do You (Or Your Lover) Speak?

Which Love Language Do You (Or Your Lover) Speak?

 With all of its complexities, people express love in many different ways. Frequently, this is the reason why you and your partner get into little misunderstandings that eventually turn into full-blown fights.

Renowned relationship counselor and author of the bestselling book, Five Love Languages, Gary Chapman revealed that there are five emotional love languages, which people use to communicate and recognize love as an emotion.

What Are The 5 Love Languages

The five love languages are super straightforward. According to Chapman, it’s possible that we identify with more than one, as each of us can have a primary and secondary love language.

See which love language you or your partner can relate to the most:

1. Words of Affirmation

Endearing words and sincere compliments are greatly appreciated by people who speak this love language. But as a downside, the quote “Words cut deeper than knives. A knife can be pulled out, words are embedded into our souls,” cannot be more true for these people.

Start with the basics. Always say “Thank you,” “Sorry,” “I love you,” “I miss you,” “You look beautiful,” you know the drill.

2. Quality Time

Time is the currency most valued for this love language. Your presence is the present.

Whether it’s taking a romantic getaway with just the two of you or having dinner at home, your undivided attention is what matters most. Stop staring at your phone whenever you’re together. Turn off or keep away gadgets, which are the biggest sources distraction of today. 

    3. Receiving Gifts

    Not necessarily materialistic, some people feel special and loved when their partners remember special occasions – say, anniversary, birthday, or Valentine’s Day – by giving them something tangible.

    It doesn’t have to be expensive. Remember, it’s the thought that counts.
    How about a bunch of her favourite roses on an ordinary day, just because you feel like surprising him/her? 

    4. Physical Touch

    Beyond the bedroom, a person who speaks this love language finds romance in constant physical connections like kissing, holding hands, hugging, or resting your head on his/her shoulder.

      5. Acts of Service

      As the saying goes, actions speak louder than words. People who speak this love language have a fairly low tolerance when it comes to laziness and broken promises. Many married women may identify with this love language. They appreciate it when their husbands offer to cook dinner on weekends or to do some errands when their plate’s too full. A body massage? Breakfast in bed? Be creative! 

      Still not sure what your love language is? Take the test!

      Leave a comment